Sports Digest: Pacers to hold Valpo Night

2013-11-12T21:15:00Z 2014-06-24T20:04:19Z Sports Digest: Pacers to hold Valpo Night

Pro basketball

PACERS TO HOLD VALPO NIGHT: The Pacers will hold Valparaiso Community Night on Nov. 25, when they host the Minnesota Timberwolves and Valparaiso High School graduate Robbie Hummel at Bankers Life Fieldhouse.

Fans who purchase tickets through this offer are invited to a postgame question-and-answer session with Hummel on the main floor. Tickets are available at discounted rates: $86.90 lower level, $53.90 club level,  $24.20 lower balcony and $13.20 upper balcony. Wristbands for the postgame activities must be picked up before the game at the check-in table near the ATM by the Pennsylvania Street entrance inside the fieldhouse.

The game will mark Hummel's only appearance in Indianapolis this season. Tipoff is at 7 p.m. Doors will open at 6 with check-in starting at 5:30.

Men's basketball

BALL STATE DOWNS TAYLOR: Zavier Turner led all scorers with 17 points as Ball State defeated NAIA in-state foe Taylor 73-53 Tuesday night.

Turner was the only Cardinal (1-1) to reach double-figure scoring. Majok Majok had six points to go along with 16 rebounds.

Kyle Stidom scored 14 points off of 7-of-15 shooting for Taylor (2-2), its only player with double-figures.

It was head coach James Whitford's first win at Ball State and was the first meeting between the teams since 1936.

NO. 7 MICHIGAN ROUTS S.C. STATE: Caris LeVert made his first five 3-point attempts, and No. 7 Michigan had a terrific night from beyond the arc, breezing to a 93-59 victory over South Carolina State (1-2).

LeVert finished with 24 points, going 6 of 7 from long distance. The Wolverines (2-0) were again without star big man Mitch McGary (Chesterton), who has been out with a back problem. Glenn Robinson III (Lake Central) had 13 points and nine rebounds.

CRIMSON WAVE HANGS ON TO DEFEAT MOODY BIBLE: Robert Jackson led Calumet College with 12 points, while Kendall Cross and Brian Brilmeyer each added 10 points in a 61-52 win over Moody Bible.

SSC CRUISES TO EASY WIN: Anthony Strickland scored 18 points, while Lavell Boyd added 15 in South Suburban's 95-66 win over Wilbur Wright.

Women's basketball

IUN COACH TO BE HONORED: Indiana Northwest coach Ryan Shelton recently earned his 100th career victory, a 74-51 win over Trinity Christian.

A ceremony to honor Shelton will take place at 7 p.m. today in the Savannah Center Gymnasium just before the women's basketball tip-off against Bethel College.

Shelton's overall career record is 101-85, and his .612 winning percentage is the highest among all coaches in Indiana Northwest history.

SOUTH SUBURBAN ROUTS WILBUR WRIGHT: Alyssa Gebo led three players in double figures, scoring 20 points to help the Bulldogs cruise to a 67-41 win over Wilbur Wright on tuesday. Chantele McDonald added 14 points, while Melissa Blanco chipped in 10 points for the Bulldogs.

Men's soccer

CRUSADERS FROSH NAMED TO HORIZON TEAM: Valparaiso's Adrian Graham, Omar Lawrence and Kevin Klett have been named to the Horizon League All-Freshman Team, while senior Jesse Ortiz was chosen for the second team. Ortiz is second on the team in minutes and has started every game in which he has played.

College baseball

OILMEN ADD PLAYER: The Northwest Indiana Oilmen have signed University of Cincinnati freshman outfielder Rob Blissitt, Jr. for the 2014 season.

Blissitt was a second-team all-area selection as a senior at Thornwood last year. He received all-conference accolades all four years of high school, compiling a .354 batting average with 19 RBIs, two home runs and 13 stolen bases as a senior.

Around the horn

The Bulls say Derrick Rose is day to day with a sore right hamstring. ... The Blackhawks have agreed to terms with forward Andrew Shaw on a two-year contract extension through the 2015-16 season. The 22-year-old Shaw had nine goals and six assists in 48 games last year, his first full season in the NHL. ...  Terry Francona of the Cleveland Indians has won the AL Manager of the Year award in a close vote, and Clint Hurdle of the Pittsburgh Pirates is a runaway winner in the National League after both guided small-budget teams to charming turnarounds. ...  Jose Fernandez of the Miami Marlins and Wil Myers of the Tampa Bay Rays were selected baseball's Rookies of the Year.

Copyright 2014 All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

Follow The Times

Latest Local Offers

Featured Businesses



How will the Colts do this season?

View Results

NFL News