You are the owner of this article.
Education roundup

Education roundup

Academic All-Star

Chesterton High School Senior Nolan Poczekay was recently named one of the 2018 Indiana Academic All-Stars by the Indiana Association of School Principals (IASP). Poczekay was selected from a field of 275 outstanding nominees from the state’s private and public accredited schools. Nolan was recognized at a luncheon this past Friday at the Indiana Roof Ballroom in downtown Indianapolis.

Groups help out at Rebuilding Together Duneland

The Porter County Chapter of the Izaak Walton League of America was honored to receive the assistance of Rebuilding Together Duneland. The group needed some extra hands to accomplish goals that will lead toward their opening the property for public enjoyment and education. They are grateful to have had such a large group of RTD volunteers come out to plant trees, clear invasives, add new features to the nature playground and do some general "old farm" cleanup. Volunteers from Porter's Worthington Steel, CHS gymnastics and wrestling teams and Duneland's citizens made short work of the to-do list. PCC plans to invite school, Scout and other groups to explore the 8 out of 10 of our Region's ecosystems present at the site.

Certified archery

Four staff members at Discovery Charter School became certified archery instructors through the National Archery in the Schools Program (NASP). The eight-hour training was done onsite at Discovery. The archery equipment was obtained through a grant from Indiana NASP and a school fundraiser with a local business. According to head coach Kristen Byrt, Discovery plans on incorporating the archery program in middle school gym classes and an after-school club.

Coolidge Senator

Munster High School junior Shreyas Iyer was accepted as a Coolidge Senator by the Calvin Coolidge Presidential Foundation. Coolidge Foundation awards annually a full-ride scholarship to any accredited university in the United States. Iyer was selected to the semifinal round of the program thereby ranking in the top 2 percent of all applicants nationally.

Valparaiso student receives departmental award

Margaret Nagai, of Valparaiso, received the Outstanding Animal Science Student Award during a ceremony April 24 for the University of Tennessee at Martin College of Agriculture and Applied Sciences. UT Martin is a four-year university in Northwest Tennessee and is a member of the University of Tennessee System.

Society induction nominees honored

VALPARAISO — Technology stars from 10 area high schools were honored May 1 for their excellent work habits and performance.

Porter County Career and Technical Education inducted 99 students for this year's Technology Honor Society class. The students represent nine public high schools in Porter County plus Hobart High School.

This year's inductees are as follows:

Valparaiso: Jorge Apolo, Melissa Cassady, Molly DiLauro, Kendall Galligan, Jacob Klotz, Joshua Nibbe, Alexis Orlich, Nathan Lewis, Kayla Johnson, Alyssa Ido, Tyree Jakes, Jacob Lemmon, Bridget McGrath, Emma Pollitt, Ted Terry, Jack Thorne, Taesa Stock, Jeffrey St Aubin, Angela Stalbaum, Alissa Van Zuidam, Bi Zhuang,Viviana Ramirez,Nesita Reynolds, Rachel Roe, Raylin Shoemaker

Portage: Corinne Ball, Kyler Berrier, Ryan Bliss, Christian Browning, Kyle Johnson, Laura Joseph, Cassandra Prohl, Steven Wallskog, Sara Timmons, Shawn Truman, Stephen Szakacs, Alexis Rudolph, Jaryd Russell

Morgan Township: Jacob Becker, Cameron Chapman, Joseph Duszynski, Austyn Pryatel, Samuel Scott

Hebron: Philip Betts, Austin Chas, Jaycie Majcher, Heather Sowles,

Boone Grove: Destiny Boland,Savanna Cain, Lauren Casbon, Luke Crisman, Kelsie Edwards, Joshua Gaskin, Rachel Wilkening, Cody Szczerba, Ethan Smith, Cheyanne Montozzi, Maxwell Kidd,

Kouts: Travis Brubaker, Ryleigh Cadwell, Sarah Clinton, Meagan Farmer, Austin Hamann, Kilee Heinrichs, Lukas Mergenthaler, Isabelle Sebastian, Isaac Serles, Kameron Rentschler, Trenton Van Vuren, Cheyenne Wray,

Hobart: Cade Brumley, Sarai Chavez, Madeline Palichuk, Alexis Koritko, Kaylee Hemphill, Zackery Compton, Xavier Costello

Washington Twp: Haley Clark, Kelsey Fleming, Brock Pappas, Jordan Sheets, Tyler Smolar, Benjamin Stewart, Abigail Vargas, Jonas Wald

Wheeler: Julia Lewis

Chesterton: Madison Cole, Andrew Fancher, Grace Jewett, Olivia Jewett, Andrew Jimenez, Kari LaFreniere, Steven McCarthy, Jenna Milcarek, Rachel Morris, Mark Murillo-Braselton, Sadie Spratley, Samantha Sriplo, Hannah Wild

Ivy Tech faculty members earn awards

Ivy Tech Community College named its winners for full-time and adjunct faculty of the year at each of its campuses statewide. Local honorees and campuses are:

Full-time Lake County: Dan Mallon, Human Services professor and incoming department chair; Valparaiso: Don Spears, Human Services professor and program chair; Michigan City: Paul Oman, Mathematics program chair

Adjunct Lake County: Fred Williams, reading and IVYT college success courses instructor; Valparaiso: Lee Ann Leady, instructor in the school of Health Sciences; Michigan City: Sarah de la Rue, Earth Science instructor


Be the first to know

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

Related to this story

Get up-to-the-minute news sent straight to your device.


News Alerts

Breaking News


Entertainment & Dining

Latest News

Local Sports

NWI Prep Sport News

Weather Alerts