Try 1 month for 99¢
Candidate lists for the May 8 primary

Candidate lists for the May 8 primary

Candidate filings continued this week for the May 8 Democratic and Republican primary elections.

Those filing in recent days include:

Lake County

Democratic Party candidates: 1st District Lake County Councilman David Hamm is running for re-election; Carl "The Spoon" Weatherspoon Jr. is challenging Lake Auditor John Petalas; former Gary City Councilman Ronier L. Scott and Leonard White are running for the 3rd District County Council seat.

Also: North Township Trustee Frank Mrvan is running for re-election; Merrillville Town Councilwoman Chrissy Baron is challenging Ross Township Trustee Joe Shudick; Michael "Mike" Ellis is challenging Hobart Township Trustee Thomas Silich.

Republican candidates: Center Township Assessor Joe Krnich, filed for re-election; Cedar Lake Town Councilman Robert H. "Bob" Carnahan is running for re-election, and Matthew R. Felder is running for the 2nd Ward Lowell Town Council seat.

Porter County

Democratic candidates: Sheriff David M. Reynolds is running for re-election. Portage Township Trustee Brendan Clancy and Westchester Township Trustee Suzanne Philbrick are running for re-election.

Republican candidates: Prosecutor Brian T. Gensel is running for re-election; 1st District Porter County Councilman Andy Bozak is running for re-election. Liberty Township Trustee Beth A. Underwood and Morgan Township Trustee Rodney King are running for re-election. Karyl VanDyke is challenging Pleasant Township Trustee Jean C. Oehlman

LaPorte County

Democratic candidates: Sean Fitzpatrick is challenging 3rd District Council Councilman Mark S. Yagelski. Coolspring Township Trustee Jackline "Jackie" Atwater is running for re-election.

Republican candidates: Sheriff John T. Boyd is running for re-election. Kankakee Township Trustee Steve Lestinsky Jr., Springfield Township Trustee Howard Conley and Center Township Trustee Lisa M. Pierzakowski are running for re-election.

Federal offices

U.S. Sen. Joe Donnelly, a Democrat, is running for re-election

Republicans running for U.S. Senate are: Mike Braun, Andrew Horning, Mark Hurt, Luke Messer and Todd Rokita.

Republican David Dopp is a candidate for the 1st Congressional District.

Indiana General Assembly

Democratic candidates: 14th House District state Rep. Vernon G. Smith; Carolyn B. Jackson for 1st House District, Ragen H. Hatcher and Jessica Renslow for the 3rd House District; Duane Parry for the 9th House District; Charles "Chuck" Moseley for the 10th House District; Delano Scaife for the 11th House District and Chris Chyung and Chris Kukuch for the 15th House District

Republican candidates: Charles B. Kallas for the 1st Senate District; Cole Stultz for the 4th Senate District.

Subscribe to Daily Headlines

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.


Lake County Reporter

Bill has reported in Lake County since 1972 after graduating from Indiana University. He has worked for The Times since 1997, covering the courts and local government during much of his tenure. Born and raised in New Albany, Ind., he is a native Hoosier.