Try 1 month for 99¢

INDIANAPOLIS — Republican women once again appeared to sweep all three state offices on Tuesday's general election ballot, continuing a midterm election trend that began in 2014.

Secretary of State Connie Lawson and State Treasurer Kelly Mitchell each were projected to win their second full terms, while State Auditor Tera Klutz seemed to receive voter approval to continue her service after being appointed last year to succeed now-Lt. Gov. Suzanne Crouch.

The apparent GOP victories mean all seven statewide elected offices will continue to be held by Republicans through at least 2020, with five of the seven led by women.

At a capital city victory party, Lawson thanked Hoosiers for re-electing her for another four years, and said she was "honored and humbled" to serve as Indiana's secretary of state.

Klutz likewise said she was grateful to Indiana voters for making her the first elected state auditor who also is a certified public accountant.

Two of the defeated Democrats hail from Northwest Indiana: Jim Harper, of Valparaiso, the secretary of state nominee; and John Aguilera, of East Chicago, who ran for state treasurer.

Despite energetic campaigns, particularly by Harper, the Democratic candidates, including Joselyn Whitticker for state auditor, were unable to overcome the name recognition, fundraising and other advantages enjoyed by the incumbent Republicans.

Subscribe to Daily Headlines

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

Statehouse Bureau Chief

Dan is Statehouse Bureau Chief for The Times. Since 2009, he's reported on Indiana government and politics — and how both impact the Region — from the state capital in Indianapolis. He originally is from Orland Park, Ill.