Subscribe for 33¢ / day
Barden Gary Foundation Awards $50,100 in Scholarships

Barden Gary Foundation scholarship winners receive their awards from Abu Young, far right, chairman of the foundation Board of Directors, and Chareice White, middle of second row, foundation president.

HOBART | Barden Gary Foundation recently hosted its seventh annual scholarship awards dinner at Avalon Manor for Gary high school seniors who are members of the foundation's scholarship program.

Parents, guardians, Gary Community School Board members, Lake Ridge Superintendent Dr. Sharon Shirley, principals, counselors, teachers joined the foundation's board of directors to celebrate with the 38 students from various Gary high schools receiving a total of $50,100 in scholarship awards.

The foundation created a scholarship program with the goal of developing young leaders, and that goal has evolved into a multi-faceted scholarship program.

With a program that focuses on academics, community service and student incentives, BGF helps students achieve their college goals. Whether taking students to the nation’s capital or providing books, the board of directors help provide life-changing opportunities and serve as mentors to help empower students and build their self-esteem.

In seven years, the foundation has provided scholarships to 177 students and has disbursed $414,750 along with two former partner donors.

This year's honorees include:

$3,000 scholarships

Tenia Martin and Marcus Lloyd, both from Thea Bowman Leadership Academy; Brytnie Jones, of Wirt/Emerson Visual and Performing Arts Academy; Laurielle McFerson, of West Side Leadership Academy; Jarell Springfield, of  Calumet New Tech High School  ; Denisha Golston and Tacarra Holden, both of  Lew Wallace STEM Academy

$2,000 scholarships

India Maynor and Sabrina Allen, both of Wirt/Emerson VPA; Jaylen Johnson, of  Calumet New Tech High School; India Brown, of  West Side Leadership Academy

$1,000 scholarships

Terri Hamilton and Patricia Trambles, both of  Lew Wallace STEM Academy; Destini Anderson, Alanna Hearon, Aniqua Chatman, DeJuan Hedrick, Amber Reese, Jaelan Collins and Monique Miller, all of Wirt/Emerson VPA; Taylor McFadden, of West Side Leadership Academy

$750 scholarships

Damion Miller, Maggie Moores, Tamara Lofton, Jalynn Leavy, Emoni Goldman and Jennifer Bennett, all of Wirt/Emerson VPA; Robert Brown and Marcelina Espinosa, both of Calumet New Tech High School; Danielle Pickens and Shiyenne Talley, both of Thea Bowman Leadership Academy; Rochelle Tolliver, of  West Side Leadership Academy

$475 scholarships

Larry Morris, Dakota Surney and Rodrigo Santillan, all of Calumet New Tech High School; Ki'juan Crawford, of Lew Wallace STEM Academy; She'Terra Williams, of  Thea Bowman Leadership Academy; and James Wells, of Wirt/Emerson VPA