Skip to main content
You have permission to edit this article.
Dye scholarship recipients feted at annual dinner

Dye scholarship recipients feted at annual dinner

  • Updated

SCHERERVILLE | The annual Jim and Betty Dye Scholarship Dinner was held recently at Briar Ridge Country Club. One hundred fifteen past and present scholarship recipients celebrated  their accomplishments along with James W. and Betty Dye Foundation members James Dye, Carin Calvin-Olah, Jim Dye Jr., Jay Dye, Terry Clapacs, the Rev. Steve Conger, Karl Hand, Timothy Vick, and former scholarship recipient Angela Mattozzi.

Clapacs, retired Indiana University vice president for administration and former IU athletic director, gave an inspirational keynote speech to the attendees, encouraging them to become involved alumni after their college graduation.

Jim and Betty Dye Scholarships provide $500 to $3,500 per semester for four years at Indiana University Bloomington, Indiana University Northwest, Purdue University West Lafayette, Purdue University Calumet, IUPUI and Ball State University.

The scholarships are awarded to high school seniors from Lake, Newton, Porter, and Jasper counties who achieve a minimum 1650 SAT score, 3.25 grade point average, and demonstrate school and community involvement.

More than 350 Jim and Betty Dye Scholarships have been awarded since 1994 and graduates of the program include physicians, dentists, nurses, pharmacists, lawyers, engineers, teachers, journalists, entrepreneurs, scientists and Peace Corps volunteers. Information regarding the program can be found at or by calling (219) 836-1100.


Be the first to know

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

Related to this story

Get up-to-the-minute news sent straight to your device.


News Alerts

Breaking News


Entertainment & Dining

Latest News

Local Sports

NWI Prep Sport News

Weather Alerts