PORTAGE — Amera Abu-Hakmeh appeared to be the All-American girl.

An honor roll student at Chesterton High School, the 17-year-old Portage teen was also a member of the CHS Trojan Guard and a National Honor Society member. Last year she won the Don Quijote Scholarship Fund, allowing for international travel.

Abu-Hakmeh was killed Tuesday morning and her younger sister was seriously injured in a two-car crash on U.S. 20 here just after 7 a.m.

The driver of the other vehicle, Gayle Brown, 85, of Greencastle, Indiana, was allegedly driving at a high rate of speed and crossed the center line striking the car carrying the two girls, according to officials. Brown was driving a Buick Regal westbound in the inside lane of traffic before the crash. Abu-Hakmeh was driving a 2002 Mitsubishi Eclipse eastbound in the inside lane of travel.

Both Abu-Hakmeh and Brown died at the scene.

Abu-Hakmeh's 12-year-old sister was transported to Comers Children's Hospital in Chicago where she was in critical, but stable condition, said Portage Police Chief Troy Williams.

"The impact caused catastrophic damage to both vehicles," said Williams.

Porter County Coroner Chuck Harris said Brown was traveling "at a high rate of speed."

UPDATE: Teen killed in Portage crash was band member, honor roll student at Chesterton High School

An image from Google Earth of Clem Road and US 20. 

The crash happened on U.S. 20 about 500 feet east of Clem Road, in an area of U.S. 20 which curves and rises over a railroad track. The area of U.S. 20 between the rise and Dombey Road further to the west has been the scene of several crashes over the years. 


Keep reading for FREE!
Enjoy more articles by signing up or logging in. No credit card required.

Abu-Hakmeh was a senior at Chesterton High School and her sister is a seventh grader at Chesterton Middle School.

"We have counseling available for all of our students and for staff members that have been touched by her," said Duneland Schools spokesperson Bridget Martinson, adding all CHS students were informed of the girl's death Tuesday morning by school personnel.

CMS students in All-Region Band:

(FILE) Photo provided by Bridget Martinson Chesterton Middle School will have five students representing them at the 2013 Indiana Bandmasters Association North All-Region Honor Band on Saturday and Sunday. Those students are, left to right, Rachel Hoffmann, Amera Abuhakmeh, Madeline Joesten, Aaron Brookhouse and Christian Richardson. All-Region Honor Band will be hosted at Kankakee Valley High School in Wheatfield, Indiana and will include approximately 115 seventh, eighth, and ninth grade students representing thirty-two area schools. On Saturday, the students will spend the day in rehearsal and on Sunday the students will participate in a dress rehearsal followed by a concert performance at 4 p.m.

"The Duneland School Corporation was saddened to learn this morning that a Chesterton High School senior was killed this morning in a traffic crash and a Chesterton Middle School student was critically injured," Martinson said in a written statement.

The Chesterton High School senior was an active member of the school’s band program. The school’s band director met separately with members of the band this morning to share the news and has remained available along with counselors to support the students during this difficult time, Martinson said.

Combined Intermediate Band

(FILE) Members of the combined sixth grade band include Amera Abuhakmeh, Elizabeth Arndt, Jacob Baron, Abby Billings, Kyrsten Boswell, Aaron Brookhouse, Nathan Bush, Alec Callahan, Andrew Cernick, Jane Chisholm, Davis Church, Quinn Conway, Carol Dilts, Michael Donan, Brock Dothitt, Kevin Durkin, Hayley Edmonds, Laura Estridge, Victoria Evans, Andrew Figg, Doug Filipek, Sailor Franklin, Maggie Gardner, David Gerth, Julia Gonzales, Justice Griffith, Anthony Hampton, Jason Hebblethwaite, David Hodgkiss, Mark Hodgkiss, Rachel Hoffman, Alexis Hoover, Josh Ivey, Miles Jablonski, Bryn Jackson, Olivia Jewett, Grace Jewett, Andrew Kirk, Abigail Koster, Kari LaFreniere, Nicholas Lane, Anthony Langley, Hannah Lewis, Matthew Lorenz, Shaye McCarthy, Kylie Mercier, Madelyn Mobley, Sean Mott, Tanay Murarka, AnnaRose Musgrave, Saralai Muth, Violet Needham, Brooklyn Newland, Elijah Ontiveros, Max Owens, Kanisha Patel, Wyatt Pendleton, Nolan Poczekay, Kelly Ricard, Christian Richardson, Dylan Rodriguez, Clarissa Samahon, Sydney Sarver, Luke Sawyer, Delaney Schavey, Chris Sexton, Andrew Stolz, Hailey Vale, Noah VanNevel, Kayla VanNostran, Justin Wallar, Jacob Winland, Kirsten Wozniak.

"Our schools, just like all schools across the United States, are a gathering place and mirror the patchwork of our communities. This is a difficult time for both our students and staff. We grieve the loss of this wonderful student and offer our prayers and support for the family in this difficult time," said Duneland Schools Superintendent Ginger Bolinger.

According to The Times archives, Abu-Hakmeh was an honor roll student, National Honor Society member and a member of the CHS Trojan Guard. She was also a recipient of the Don Quijote Scholarship Fund.


(FILE) The 5th Annual Don Quijote Scholarship Fund Award Dinner on Wednesday at Don Quijote Restaurant in Valparaiso. This year the Don Quijote Scholarship Fund sponsored international travel for eight Porter county students from Chesterton High School, Valparaiso High School, Portage High School and Purdue North Central. This year's recipients will be going to either Spain or Costa Rica. (L to R) Zachary Barbosa, Amyah Gomez, award recipient Amera Abu-Hakmeh, Entesar Gomez, Geovanna Gomez and Armando Gomez. 

"The Portage Police Department Crash Investigation Team is conducting a thorough investigation," Williams said. "Notifications to the families have been made. No words can lessen the pain felt by each family, but our thoughts, prayers and condolences go out to them during this time of tragedy."

Harris said his office is also continuing the investigation.

Subscribe to Daily Headlines

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

Porter County Reporter

Joyce has been a reporter for nearly 40 years, including 23 years with The Times. She's a native of Merrillville, but has lived in Portage for 39 years. She covers municipal and school government in Porter County.