2016 elections logo

Most voters hope candidates vying for political office will exhibit ethical behavior and demand it of their employees if elected.

Most of our public officials become political candidates for the right reasons. However, we commend those candidates who have pledged to go one step further — if they’re successful in the 2016 polls — by pledging ethics training for their government employees.

All eight Lake County local government candidates, 16 of 26 LaPorte County candidates and 16 Porter County candidates signed this pledge with our Region’s Shared Ethics Advisory Commission.

The candidates who signed the pledge promise to provide ethics training at least once every two years for themselves and their prospective government employees. The training serves as a reminder of the black, white and gray areas of government ethics and doing the right thing.

The candidates listed below all signed the pledge and should be congratulated.

Lake County


Mike Brown, Democrat

Gerald Swets, Republican


Merrilee Frey, Democrat


Bill Emerson Jr., Democrat

2nd District Commissioner

Gerry Scheub, Democrat

Jerry Tippy, Republican

3rd District Commissioner

Michael Repay, Democrat

Mark Leyva, Republican

LaPorte County


Joeileen Winski, Democrat

2nd District Commissioner

David L. Decker, Democrat

Richard J. Mrozinsksi, Republican

3rd District Commissioner

Vidya Kora, Democrat

Dennis Metheny, Republican


Sean S. Fitzpatrick, Democrat

Council at-large

Jeff Santana, Democrat

Lois A. Sosinski, Democrat

John P. Sullivan, Democrat

Keep reading for FREE!
Enjoy more articles by signing up or logging in. No credit card required.

Adam Reed, Republican

Dan VanSchoyck, Republican


Barbara A. Dean, Democrat

Earl Cunningham, Republican


John T. Saylor, Republican

Pottawattomie Park Council

Michael Sloan, Independent

Pottawattomie Clerk-treasurer

Susan Tochell, Democrat

Porter County

Be the first to know - Sign up for News Alerts

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

South District Commissioner

Laura Shurr Blaney, Democrat

North District Commissioner

Jeffrey L. Chidester, Democrat

Jim Biggs, Republican


Michelle Claney, Democrat

Chuck Harris, Republican


Kevin D. Breitzke, Democrat

Bill Rensberger, Republican

Council at-large

Sylvia Graham, Democrat

Bob Popard, Democrat

Dan Whitten, Democrat

Jeff Larson, Republican

Rich Parks, Republican

Ogden Dunes 2nd Ward Town Council

Nathan B. Ball, Independent

Charlie Costanza, Independent

Ogden Dunes 4th Ward Town Council

Kathryn Kniola, Independent