Subscribe for 33¢ / day

Floodwaters rise Tuesday on Millport Drive and McCool Road in South Haven.

While scores of Region residents continue bailing out and cleaning up from epic flooding, a long-term fix appears to be in store for a water-plagued area of Porter County.

Good government and effective problem-solving are to thank.

South Haven is noted as one of the most densely populated unincorporated areas in Indiana, and residents there are all too familiar with flooding.

Standing water and sinkholes have abounded there over the years.

During last week's flooding — courtesy of heavy rains, frozen ground and significant snow melt — several key roads were closed around South Haven.

Porter County officials believe the days of South Haven's water woes may soon be over thanks to a landmark agreement finalized just days before the recent rains began to fall.

The Twin Lakes Conservancy District has agreed to begin paying into Porter County's new stormwater fee. In return, most of the $20 million recently borrowed by Porter County government for drainage work will be directed to the South Haven area, which made the county's top 10 list for drainage concerns several years ago. Contracts for engineering and design work already have been approved.

Relining deteriorated drain pipes on the east side of the community and ditch reconstruction work are among the priorities.

The fix won't come at a steep price to South Haven residents, who will be charged $5 per month, or half of the stormwater fee paid by others in the county's unincorporated areas. Meanwhile, the conservancy district will pick up the other half of the fees.

If the plan leads to a fix for long-running flooding in a densely populated area, it's money well collected and spent.

We applaud county government and the conservancy district for brokering a deal aimed at fixing a perennial problem.

The best of Region planning and problem-solving occurs when multiple units of government reach across imaginary turf boundaries to benefit the taxpayers.



Members of The Times Editorial Board are Publisher Christopher T. White, Local News Editor Marc Chase, Lake County Editor Crista Zivanovic, Porter/LaPorte County Editor Doug Ross and Deputy Local Editor Erin Orr.