Subscribe for 33¢ / day

NEW YORK — Chipper Jones, Jim Thome, Vladimir Guerrero and Trevor Hoffman were elected to the baseball Hall of Fame.

Designated hitter Edgar Martinez came close after a grass-roots campaign to boost him. Barry Bonds and Roger Clemens, both tainted by the steroids scandal, edged up but again fell far short.

Jones and Thome made it 54 players elected in their first year of eligibility by members of the Baseball Writers' Association of America. Jones drew 97.2 percent (410 of 422) in results announced Wednesday, and Thome was at 89.8 percent.

"It was waterworks," Jones said after hearing the vote.

Jones was an eight-time All-Star third baseman for the Atlanta Braves. The switch-hitter batted .303 with 468 home runs.

Jones was a force for most of the Atlanta teams that won 14 straight division titles — his election puts another member of those Braves clubs in Cooperstown, along with pitchers John Smoltz, Tom Glavine and Greg Maddux, manager Bobby Cox and general manager John Schuerholz.

Thome hit 612 home runs, putting him eighth on the career list. The five-time All-Star played mostly for the Cleveland Indians.

Guerrero was elected in his second try, getting 92.9 percent. The nine-time All-Star slugger played half his career with the Montreal Expos. The outfielder was a notorious bad-ball hitter, batting .318 with 449 homers and 1,496 RBIs.

Hoffman was chosen in his third year, getting 79.9 percent after missing by just five votes last time. The former San Diego Padres closer had 601 saves, second to Mariano Rivera's 652.

It took 75 percent for election, or 317 votes. Martinez made a big move up to 70.4 percent and fell 20 votes short. Mike Mussina climbed to 63.5 percent.

Clemens, winner of 354 games and seven Cy Young Awards, got 57.3 percent after drawing 54.1 percent last time. Bonds, the career home run leader and a seven-time MVP, reached 56.4 percent, up from 53.8 percent.

Clemens and Bonds each have four tries left.

Martinez toiled for six years in the minor leagues before finally making it to the majors full time in 1989.

What's one more year of waiting for the Hall of Fame?

The former Seattle Mariners designated hitter and third baseman fell short in his bid for the baseball Hall, finishing with 70.4 percent of the vote in his ninth year on the ballot. Players need 75 percent of the vote from the BWAA to make it.

It was the second straight year with a significant jump in Martinez's attempt to become the first player who was primarily a designated hitter during his career to reach Cooperstown. But it was a crushing loss for fans who became optimistic after seeing him make significant gains in ballot tracking prior to the official announcement Wednesday.

"Thank you to all the fans out there that supported my (Hall of Fame) candidacy," Martinez tweeted shortly after the announcement. "We are trending up, next year may be the year. Thank you Mariners and the best fans in baseball."

Just four years ago, Martinez was slogging at 25.2 percent in the balloting, but the last few years have signaled a major change in how voters are viewing his contributions even though he rarely played the field after 1992. Martinez's career .312 batting average, .933 on-base plus slugging and seven All-Star Game appearances created a strong foundation for his candidacy. Testaments from former opponents and teammates who have been inducted into the Hall, along with additional statistical analysis, have bolstered his chances.

Martinez was at 58.6 percent last year, and while he didn't reach the needed 75 percent, he did crack an important threshold by reaching 70 percent in his ninth year of eligibility. Every player who has reached the 70 percent plateau at some point in the voting process has been inducted.

The four new members will be inducted on July 29 . They will be joined by Jack Morris and shortstop Alan Trammell, who were picked last month by a committee that considered older players and executives.

Rivera heads the ballot next year, once again raising debate over whether any player will unanimously elected to the Hall. The late Roy Halladay also will be a first-time candidate.

Copyright 2018 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.