Subscribe for 33¢ / day

Marquette Catholic junior guard Colin Kenney was named the Indiana Basketball Coaches Association/Subway District 1 Player of the Week after scoring 78 points in three games and becoming the first Blazer to surpass the 1,000-point plateau in his career.

For the week, Kenney was 29-of-50 from the field, 11-of-20 on 3-pointers and 9-of-10 from the foul line to go with eight assists and nine steals. He completed his week with 1,039 career points. Kenney also won the award Dec. 6, 2016 following his record-setting 42-point performance in the 2016-17 season opener.

Other local nominees were: Johnny Bernard, Merrillville; DeAndre Gholston, 21st Century; Dominic Lucido, Hanover Central; Cody Maxwell, Morgan Township; Daejon Reddix, Michigan City; Carson Roeske, Hebron; Taylor Austin, Lake Station; Jada Dixon, West Side; Ari Gerdt, Valparaiso; Tiara Jackson, E.C. Central; Courtney Krol, Chesterton; Sadie Leatherman, Kouts; Emma Nolan, Marquette Catholic; Hannah Noveroske, Michigan City; and Daijah Smith, Lighthouse.

Sectional, regional moved: Class A Sectional 51 and Regional 13 has been moved to Culver Community due to floor damage at Triton. South Central is in the sectional, which feeds into the regional along with the Kouts, Tri-County and Hamilton sites.


Region I all-stars, top coaches chosen: Region I football coaches selected their all-star team Sunday. Players on the list will be considered for the North All-Star team that will play the South in July.

The team includes: Alex Scott (center) and Braden Corzan (free safety), Chesterton; Ryan Dziewicki (offensive line), Boone Grove; Jake Thode (offensive line), Drayson Nespo (running back) and Kyle Simpkins (tight end), LaPorte; Aarion Harvey (offensive line), Kadafi Coleman (inside linebacker) and Fred Winston (offense-at large), Griffith; Brandon Streck (offensive line) and Tyler Henderson (cornerback), Merrillville; Keyshawn McGill (wide receiver), Mason Kaletha (free safety) and Mike McCullough (quarterback), Michigan City; Jaeger Gill (wide receiver), Logan Charters (outside linebacker) and Mitchell Wildman (defense at-large), Lowell; Teely Rhyne (fullback), Andrean; Anthony Maceo (running back) and Jimmy Craven (defensive end), Portage; Ryan Pisarski (defensive line), Hobart; Michael Dahlkamp (defensive line) and Jackson Long (outside linebacker), Lake Central; Joseph Wharton (defensive line), Morton; Caden Watson (linebacker), Crown Point; Michael Scarsella (cornerback), Valparaiaso); and Milan Dezelich (punter), Kankakee Valley.

The coach is Keith Kilmer (Lowell) with assistant coach John Maurek (Michigan City) and manager Calynn Drobac (Hobart).

Local coaches of the year were also selected. Winners were: Dan Kukulski (Boone Grove, 1-3A); Kilmer (Lowell, 4A), Phil Mason (Michigan City, 5A) and Kevin Enright, Crown Point, 6A).

News and notes

Steinhilber honored: Hebron baseball coach John Steinhilber was recognized as the Indiana Baseball Coaches Association District 1 Coach of the Year at the organization's annual convention Saturday in Indianapolis. Steinhilber led the Hawks to a 29-4 record and a Class 2A regional title. It's the third time he has received the award in seven seasons at Hebron.

Officials scholarship available: Applications are being taken for the Calumet Athletic Officials Association's $500 scholarship given to a male and female senior in the coverage area of Lake, Porter, LaPorte, Jasper, Starke and Newton counties. The deadline is Thursday. Forms are available in schools' guidance offices.


The Times Media Company is dedicated to improving the quality of life in Northwest Indiana, through local news, information, service initiatives and community partnerships.